The 5 Love Languages

One of my favorite nonfiction books is The 5 Love Languages – The Secret to Love that Lasts by Gary Chapman. It was first released in 1992, so I’m continually surprised to discover people who have never heard of the book. Since then, the author has written similar books that have focused on the love languages of children, teens, singles, those in the military, etc. 

The book examines how we give and receive love. The simple test included confirmed what makes me feel loved, and after my husband took the test a few years ago, it opened my eyes to what love feels like for him.

The 5 love languages:
Words of Affirmation
Quality Time
Receiving gifts
Acts of Service  
Physical Touch

Why are these so important to understand?

If a husband’s love language is words of affirmation, but his wife never tells him he did a great job or that she appreciates him, he won’t feel loved—no matter how many times she gets up to make him breakfast before he goes off to work.  But if his love language is acts of service, not only will he go out of his way to help her, he’ll feel loved when she does something nice for him.

If a wife’s love language is gifts, she may get really excited about surprising him with the new set of golf clubs. But if he never brings home flowers, cards, or other tokens, she may feel neglected no matter how many times he takes out the garbage or rubs her feet.

It seems so simple, doesn’t it?

By understanding the love languages, we can do a better job making our spouse and children feel loved, and we can help them love us better.

Do you know your love language? Do you know what makes your husband or wife feel loved?

Is it time to learn?


No comments:

Post a Comment

 photo copyright.jpg
blogger template by envye